Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid (20 Books of Summer 2022 #3)

Hello Everyone,

Today’s review is on The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid.

About the Book

Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband has left her, and her professional life is going nowhere. Regardless of why Evelyn has selected her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s luxurious apartment, Monique listens in fascination as the actress tells her story. From making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the ‘80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way, Evelyn unspools a tale of ruthless ambition, unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love. Monique begins to feel a very real connection to the legendary star, but as Evelyn’s story near its conclusion, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

My Thoughts

I have been meaning to revisit The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo for a few months. One, because I know there is a connection to Malibu Rising, which I am planning on reading soon (at the time of posting, I have just finished Malibu Rising, stay tuned for my review soon!). Second, I read it at a different time in my life where I don’t think I was able to fully enjoy or appreciate it at the time.

I really enjoyed my reread of the novel. it was really good and I struggled to put it down. I found myself thinking about it when I was doing other things. U was also reluctant to finish it. I found myself close to tears at the end too!

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a metanarrative of sorts because we see Evelyn hire Monique to write her memoirs, but most of the is set up as the recordings of Evelyn telling her life story. And the fact that biography that Monique ends up writing has the same title as the novel. I felt like I was reading the memoir of a real celebrity, and I found myself wishing that Evelyn Hugo was a real person. I also loved the newspaper articles about her that were interspersed throughout the novel.

I appreciate how the novel – as well as the character herself – does not strive to make Evelyn Hugo out to be a saint, but she isn’t a villain either. Rather, she is portrayed as flawed as anyone else, she just happens to be famous and therefore her flaws are in full display for the rest of the world. I can also appreciate that the novel doesn’t shy away from the cost of fame, especially in 1950s Hollywood.

It was also interesting to see Monique’s character development and how her interactions with Evelyn has such a huge impact on her life. While it is implied, I would have loved to have seen how she is faring in life several years after her brief time with Evelyn Hugo.

Overall, when it came to The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, second time was the charm for me. I think I now understand why this is such a beloved book – it is definitely worth the hype. I am looking forward to reading more from Taylor Jenkins Reid in the future. 5/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid (20 Books of Summer 2022 #3)

  1. Pingback: July Wrap-up | Meanderings of a BookWorm

  2. Pingback: 10 Books of Summer Wrap-Up | Meanderings of a BookWorm

  3. Pingback: Top 22 Books of 2022 | Meanderings of a BookWorm

Leave a comment