Book Reivew: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Hello Everyone,

Today’s review is on Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan.

About the Book

Global conspiracy, complex code-breaking, high-tech data visualization, young love, the secret to eternal life. Mostly in a hole-in-the-wall San Francisco bookstore.

Clay Jannon tells how serendipity, sheer curiosity, and the ability to climb a ladder like a monkey has sent him from Web Drone to night shift at Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. After just a few days on the job, Clay realizes just how curious this store is.

A few customers come in repeatedly without buying anything. Instead they “check out” obscure volumes from strange corners of the store. All runs according to some elaborate, long-standing arrangement with the gnomic Mr. Penumbra. The store must be a front for something larger, Clay concludes.

He embarks on a complex analysis of the customers’ behavior and ropes in friends to help. Once they bring their findings to Mr. Penumbra, it turns out the secrets extend far outside the walls of the bookstore. A quest to New York City dips in a world conspiracy for eternal life. The current of romance pulls Clay onward. 

My Thoughts

Maybe I had too high expectations for this book, especially since I have had Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore on my radar for over 5 years. And that’s more on me than on the actual content of this book.

I think one of my complaints is that the author seems to tackle several themes including books and technology. I don’t know, to me it seemed like an overload at times. It also seemed like it condoned the pirating of eBooks, which seemed odd. As well as condoning how technology is taking over a lot of things.

However, I did like the whole idea of a secret society trying to fined the secret to immortality. I also liked how Mr. Penumbra is open to trying new techniques to solving the code, whereas there are others within the society that believe the only way to solve the mystery is through the way its always been done.

The characters are mostly flawed, and although they definitely make questionable choices, I still found myself rooting for them. I especially liked Mr. Penumbra and his quirkiness and I liked seeing him in contrast to Corvina.

Overall, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore was okay, but also disappoint for how my expectations were, but that’s on me. however, I do highly recommend the author’s follow-up, Sourdough. 3/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment