Book Review: Queen’s Shadow by E. K. Johnston

Hello everyone,

Today’s review is on Queen’s Shadow by E. K. Johnston.

About the Book

Written by the #1 New York Times best-selling author of Ahsoka! When Padmé Naberrie, “Queen Amidala” of Naboo, steps down from her position, she is asked by the newly-elected queen to become Naboo’s representative in the Galactic Senate. Padmé is unsure about taking on the new role, but cannot turn down the request to serve her people. Together with her most loyal handmaidens, Padmé must figure out how to navigate the treacherous waters of politics and forge a new identity beyond the queen’s shadow. 

My Thoughts

I am beginning to think that the Star Wars books are just not for me. So far all the ones I have read have been just okay. And maybe it’s just that I haven’t found one that gels with me. I was really looking forward to Queen’s Shadow, and it was just alright.

While I did like reading more about the politics of the Republic, as well as Padme’s adjustments to her role as senator, it just failed to keep me interested at times. And while it was interesting to read from Sabe’s perspective, it also felt jarring at times. I did like that we got to know Senator Bail Organa a bit more and his connection to Padme, which leads to his eventual adoption of her daughter after her death.

As of yet, I don’t know if I will continue with the rest of the Padme trilogy, but I do plan on reading Ahsoka soon and hopefully I’ll fare better with that. 3/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment