Happy New Year and 2023 Reading Goals

Hello everyone,

Happy New Year! I don’t know about you, but 2022 ended up being a little bit of a rollercoaster outside of my reading life. However, things are finally starting to settle down.

Photo by Tirachard Kumtanom on Pexels.com

It has been a year of change and growth, and probably one of the biggest changes is that I started working full-time at a local public library. I’m loving it, but I am still getting adjusted to my new schedule and figuring out my routine. Another big change is that my husband and I moved into a house, and December was filled for the most part with getting settled into our new place. Hopefully, this is the last time we move for a very long time.

Even though I’ve still had posts going up, I haven’t had as much time to dedicate to my blog since I started working full time. This is why I haven’t posted a wrap-up or TBR in a while. I plan on keeping up with the blog as much as possible, especially since I have a lot of reviews in the pipeline. However, I also want to experiment with some different content, such as movie reviews, critical analysis (maybe), and share some travel blogs of places I visit this year.

Right now I plan on sticking to posting 3 times a week, but there might be some weeks where I only post once or twice a week. I don’t know if I will continue doing monthly TBRs and Wrap-ups, however, if the fancy strikes me to do one I will.

All that to say, The Meanderings of a Bookworm will be changing a little bit, but I’m not planning on going anywhere any time soon.

Before I end off, I would like to share my reading goals for the upcoming year.

  1. Read 100 books

I think I can do this, considering that I read over 200 books last year. But I also haven’t had as much time to read since I started working full time so I definitely don’t see myself reading more than 100 this year.

2. Write a review for every book I read

This is something I started doing in September 2022, and I have been mostly successful. It doesn’t have to be a long review, but I need to write at least a sentence or two. The only exception is anything that I DNF.

3. Be more intentional with what I read

In September 2022 I started trying to slow down my reading and to enjoy and savor what I’m reading. Along with writing reviews for each book in my reading journal, I also started annotating and tabbing books I read – I mostly just tab since a lot of the books I read are from the library. I have also been writing down favorite quotes from almost all the books I read, which is why I tab them.

4. Do a reading retreat.

I first came across this idea on the Modern Mrs. Darcy website, and I have been meaning to do something like this for a while. Basically, I’ll take a day or two and just spend most of it reading, so kind of like a read-a-thon, but more chill.

5. Finish 4 series (or get caught up on series).

I am guilty of starting series and taking my time to continue with them. However, I do want to try and finish series that I’ve started. I plan on finishing the Poppy War series, the Throne of Glass series, and getting caught up on the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (I just have to read A Court of Silver Flames).

6. Post every book I read on Instagram

This is something I’ve done off and on for several years, however I am determined that I will post a picture of each book I read on Instagram.

7. DNF books.

I’ve gotten better at DNF’ing books, however there were definitely a couple of books last year that I wish I had DNF’d instead of trying to push through to the end.

8. Complete my challenges.

I have about three challenges I am planning on taking part in which I will post more about later this month.

9. Get my physical TBR down to 75 books.

Right now, I have about 105 books on my TBR and I would like to knockoff 30 by the end of the year.

10. Have fun reading.

Those are my reading goals for the year. Stay tuned for my 2022 reading wrap-ups, as well as some other fun content.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment