Book Review: Miles to Go by Richard Paul Evans

Hello Everyone,

Today’s review is on Miles to Go by Richard Paul Evans.

Summary:

Alan Christoffersen, a once-successful advertising executive, wakes one morning to find himself injured, alone, and confined to a hospital bed in Spokane, Washington. Sixteen days earlier, reeling from the sudden loss of his wife, his home, and his business, Alan left everything he knew behind and set off on an extraordinary cross-country journey. Carrying only a backpack, he planned to walk to Key West, the farthest destination on his map. But a vicious roadside stabbing has interrupted Alan’s trek and robbed him of his one source of solace: the ability to walk. Homeless and facing months of difficult recovery, Alan has nowhere to turn—until a mysterious woman enters his life and invites him into her home. Generous and kind, Angel seems almost too good to be true, but all is not as it appears. Alan soon realizes that before he can return to his own journey, he must first help Angel with hers. From one of America’s most beloved and bestselling storytellers comes an astonishing tale of life and death, love and second chances, and why sometimes the best way to heal your own suffering is by helping to heal someone else’s. Inspiring, moving, and full of wisdom, Miles to Go picks up where the bestseller The Walk left off, continuing the unforgettable series about one man’s unrelenting search for hope. 

My Thoughts:

I forgot how this book deals with deep issues, including suicide. While it is dealt with quickly and tied up with a bow in some ways, I still appreciate how the author touches on the topic. I liked how Alan, because of what he has gone through and is able to help Angel/Nicole discover that life is worth living after tragedy.

I loved getting to know Angel/Novel, her life was filled with so much hardship and tragedy and I could understand the despair she feels, however I loved seeing her character development. My only complaint is that her change from despair to more hopeful seemed to happen very quickly, but maybe that does occur for some people.

I also like getting to know Kailami and just how positive she is about life despite the hardship and trauma she has experienced. I liked how she was a foil to both Alan and Nicole.

My only complaint about this book is that we spent more than half of it in Spokane, rather than on Alan’s walk. However, I did still enjoy this section, especially with how Alan and Nicole help each other in various ways.

Overall, I really enjoyed my reread of Miles to Go. Although this was not my favorite instalment in the series, I still loved it. 4/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment