Mini-Reviews #15

Hello everyone,

Welcome to another installment of mini-reviews, where I share my brief thoughts on some of the books I have read.

Fruits Basket Collector’s Edition, Vol. 1 by Natsuki Takaya

This was so cute and I plan on reading the whole series as soon as I can get my hands on each volume. This is the perfect follow-up to Kamisama Kiss. I definitely enjoyed reading this first part the second time around. 4/5 Stars.

Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson

This was a re-read for me, but I loved it! It was great to see how much of it was used for the TV show, but I also really liked the differences. I am looking forward to continuing on with the series. 4/5 Stars.

Below Zero by Ali Hazelwood

I’ll keep my review short and sweet since this is what this novella was. I really did like it. I just found Hannah to be a little full of herself, and I also felt she should have given Ian the benefit of the doubt instead of just assuming he was a herk. I did enjoy their chemistry and I loved the steam. 3.5/5 Stars.

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

I finally read this. It has to be one of the most hyped romances in the book community. I liked it. I did find Stella a little annoying, but I also had to keep reminding myself that she is on the autism spectrum. I also wish Michael was more upfront with Stella , and didn’t make assumptions about how she would react to who his father is. I loved Michael’s family and I hope we get to see more of them in the companion books (which I plan on reading). This is steaminess, but in some ways I wish there had been more. 3/5 Stars.

The Apothecary Diaries, Volume 1 by Natsu Hyuuga

This was a cute manga I came across while scrolling through the Libby app. I loved that we get to follow a young woman who has been forced to serve the Emperor’s wives and concubines. I also liked that there was a mystery element to it. 4/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment