Mini-Reviews #17

Hello everyone,

Welcome to another installment of Mini-reviews where I share my brief thoughts on several of the books I have read.

A Promise to Believe In by Tracie Peterson

Date Read: February 7, 2022

I originally picked this up for a project I was doing. This was okay, it held my interest. But it was generic Christian fiction. I think the one thing I liked was the main character realizing that she is not cursed and that she can live life to the fullest. I wish this had been a standalone, instead it builds up some of the drama that happens in the rest of the series. I do not plan on continuing with it. 3/5 Stars.

Anne’s House of Dreams by L. M. Montgomery

Date Read: February 7, 2022

I liked this installment of the Anne books. However, it definitely has a more somber tone. Don’t get me wrong, it still has some touches of whimsy that made readers fall in love with Anne Shirley in the first place. I enjoyed getting to know Anne’s neighbors, and I loved the glimpse we get into her early years of marriage to Gilbert. I sobbed when tragedy struck Anne, if you know you know. Overall, not my favorite in the series, but I can also understand why the author chose to allow Anne to go through those things. 4/5 Stars.

On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Date Read: February 7, 2022

I enjoyed this installment of the Little House series. It was interesting to see the contrast between how Laura grew up in near poverty, but her future husband’s family was somewhat well off (as seen in Farmer Boy). It was also interesting to read because it includes quite a bit that is included in the first few episodes of the TV series. 4.5 Stars.

The White Coat Diaries by Madi Sinha

Date Read: February 10, 2022

I’ll admit that what first drew me to this book was the gorgeous cover and I had somewhat low expectations of it. However, I loved it! It was a perfect blend of comedy and drama. I liked that the author wasn’t afraid to critique some of the problems with our health care system, specifically how hospital administrators seem to care more about about the dollar signs than actually helping people. My only complaint is that there is kind of a big time jump that takes place and then the book ends. But I definitely loved it and plan on reading more of Madi Sinha’s work in the future. 4/5 Stars.

The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss

Date Read: February 12, 2022

I had heard nothing but good things about this and I was looking forward to it. I enjoyed reading it. I loved how some of the most famous Gothic novels and how the offspring of those characters cross paths. I also loved how Sherlock and Watson also made an appearance. This did not quite live up to my expectations, but it was still good and I am planning on reading the rest of the series. 3.5/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment