Mini-Reviews #19

Hello Everyone,

Welcome to this installment of mini-reviews where I share brief thoughts on some of the books I have read.

Dear Fahrenheit 451 by Annie Spence

Date read: March 18th, 2022

I immediately fell in love with this book, which is pretty much a collection of letters written to various books. I laughed a lot. I also related to it as a librarian. This is a new favorite and I highly recommend this love letter to books and libraries. 5/5 Stars.

Desire and the Deep Blue Sea by Olivia Dade

Date Read: March 18th, 2022

I enjoyed this short novella. I loved that it was kind of enemies to lovers, and that the two main characters were librarians. The conflict kind of bothered me a little bit and I wish there had been more communication between the two characters. But it just solidified that Olivia Dade is a new favorite author.

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Date Read: March 21st, 2022

I liked revisiting Discworld. It took me a little bit to get into it, but that is mostly my fault because I was too focused on trying to catch all of the satire, however I’ve realized that the best way to enjoy Discworld is to not take it too seriously. I liked this introduction to the world, as well as getting to know some of the characters, especially Death! I am definitely going to keep reading the Discworld series.

House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig

Date Read: October 1st, 2022

I don’t really have much to say. This was kind of a little bit of a let down. I honestly was expecting to get creeped out, but the creepy scenes weren’t even that bad – and I consider myself a chicken when it comes to scary stuff. I did like this sort of gothic take on the Twelve Dancing Princesses, but I also found it slow. I think my expectations were too high. However, I will admit that the last 100 pages were pretty trippy and it made me want to keep going until the end. The characters were alright. I did find the religion fascinating, as well as the concept of the gods and goddesses of this world walking around. Overall, it was just okay. 3/5 Stars.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Date Read: October 9th, 2022

I don’t quite know what to say about this classic murder mystery, without giving spoilers. This meandered a little, however I also found myself on edge along with the ten characters. I loved the epilogue and I wished that the additional part explaining more about what really happened wasn’t included – but at the same time I am glad it was. This definitely proves Ms. Christie’s mettle with murder mysteries and I definitely plan on diving into more of her work. 3.5/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment