Book Review: The Woman They Could Not Silence by Kate Moore

If you’ve been following my blog for a few years, you might know that back in 2018 I read a book that became one of my favorite non-fiction books of all-time. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I reread it in 2020, and I probably loved it even more the second time around. That book was Radium Girls by Kate Moore. So when I heard that she was coming out with a new non-fiction book last year, I knew I had to read it. I didn’t know what it was about, but I knew that it would be good.

The Woman They Could Not Silence did not disappoint. Kate Moore does a great job of weaving the story of Elizabeth Packard as she not only fights for own freedom from an asylum, but for those of her fellow inmates who had also been placed in there unjustly. This book not only makes readers glad that the barbaric practices of insane asylums are a thing of the past, however it also brings to the surface the fact that women are still silenced in certain arenas, we are still seen as other. It is a reminder that we have come a long way as far as the treatment of women, but there is still a lot more work to be done.

As I mentioned before, The Woman They Could Not Silence follows Elizabeth Packard in 1861 when her minister husband places her in an insane asylum because she was outspoken about her views on politics and religion, and because she was not the model subservient wife that was considered the societal norm at the time. She also discovers that there are no laws to protect women, especially married women, from being unjustly treated. While trying to prove that she is of sound mind, she also discovers that there are others just like her, women who were declared insane for outrageous reasons. She tries to win favor with the superintendent, who at first seems to be sympathetic to her plight, but soon makes known he too wants to silence her.

After witnessing and experiencing horrible things, Elizabeth realizes that she not only needs to fight for her own freedom, but for the freedom of others who have found themselves in similar situations. She would become a prolific writer, as well as spend the rest of her life trying to bring reform not only to how individuals were committed to asylums, but also for the rights of women. She was truly a remarkable woman, who I had never heard of before.

Kate Moore does a great job of making this read like a novel, however not shying away from the horrors that took place inside insane asylums. There were times I felt sick and angry over what people would have experienced. I also found myself incensed over what was considered to make a woman insane during that time. Let me just say, I am so grateful I am married to someone who appreciates hearing my opinions and engages me in discussions. I am also glad that for the most part women are free to express themselves. However, it also reminded me of the areas where women are still left unheard, or their concerns are brushed aside. Like I said before, there is still a lot more work that needs to be done as far as women being heard.

Overall, I loved The Woman They Could Not Silence. It is a lengthy book and I read it in the span of two days. I could barely put it down, although I also find myself having to do so at times because of how angry parts of it made me. I highly recommend this book for fans of Kate Moore’s work, and for everyone. A lot more people need to know about Elizabeth Packard and the work she did in regards to reformed practices regarding admittance of patients to asylums, as well as women’s rights! 5/5 Stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Woman They Could Not Silence by Kate Moore

  1. Pingback: (A Very Overdue) April Wrap Up | Meanderings of a BookWorm

  2. Pingback: Top 22 Books of 2022 | Meanderings of a BookWorm

  3. Pingback: 22 Books I Want To Read in 2022 Wrap-up | Meanderings of a BookWorm

Leave a comment