Mini-Reviews #16

Hello everyone,

Welcome to another installment of mini-reviews, where I share my brief thoughts on some books that I have read.

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga

Date read: February 21, 2022

I loved this book. It was a poignant novel-in-verse about a young immigrant adjusting to life in America, while her family is torn apart. I felt the author captured the experiences well, and I definitely felt like I was seeing the world through Jude’s eyes. I did love that the book ended on a hopeful note, even though everything in Jude’s life was still uncertain. 4.5/5 Stars.

Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

Date read: March 4, 2022

Maybe I am overdue for a refresher of The Taming of the Shew, but this honestly seemed to not really be a retelling. I mean yes, maybe Kate could be a little bit shrewish, but she seemed pretty normal considering what she is put through. I think Bunny was more of a shrew. I could not stand Kate’s father and found him really pushy and selfish. And while he goes along with the plan, Pyotr did grow on me and I also liked how he made decisions that contradicted Dr. Batista. My only complaint is that the novel should have been longer because I found the ending to be rushed. While it didn’t quite live up to my expectations, I do plan on trying some of Anne Tyler’s other works. 3/5 Stars.

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

Date Read: February 1, 2022

I have been meaning to read this take on Lewis Carrol’s Wonderland. i liked it, however even though it ends on a cliffhanger, I am not in a rush to read the rest of the series. However, I did like learning more about the machinations of this darker Wonderland, as well as an origin for the queen of hearts. I liked how even though this sis supposed to be a different Wonderland, I did like how the author chose to use certain characters’ personality traits and use them for the ones in her version of this unique world. Overall, the story was okay. I don’t know if I will continue with the rest of the series. 3/5 Stars.

The Golden Couple by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Date Read: February 5, 2022

This was my February Book of the Month pick. I was intrigued by the premise and was craving a good thriller. Unfortunately this did not live up to my expectations. It had an okay twist, but it took a very different turn and it was kind of a let down. There were also certain things that were explained away too conveniently. it just seemed too convenient. 3/5 Stars.

Postcards from the Edge by Carrie Fisher

Date Read: March 11, 2022

This is not typically a book I would have read, but I have enjoyed Carrie Fisher’s non-fiction works and I knew I wanted to give one of her novels a try. The format is kind of all over the place, but yet it still tells a cohesive story. I liked how it wasn’t just prose, but at one point we are reading the journals of two rehab patients, and another is just dialogues or rather monologues between two characters. I enjoyed the humor that is injected throughout the novel and the author doesn’t shy away from showing life as a woman in Hollywood. Even though there wasn’t much I could relate to, I did like that we see Suzanne struggle with a lot fo the same insecurities that a lot of women experience. overall, I liked it. I don’t know if I will read the second book, but I am not disappointed that I read this. 3.5/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment