Book Review: Funny Feelings by Tarah Dewitt

Hello Everyone,

Today’s review is on Funny Feelings by Tarah Dewitt, which was one of my favorite reads from last year.

Date Read: October 4th, 2022

About the Book

Farley Jones is being forced to date Meyer Harrigan, the man she has come to love, in order to make all of her stand-up dreams come true.

It’s agony— a tragedy, even. In lieu of flowers, please send cash…

Meyer and his daughter Hazel have been everything to her since they came into her life three years ago. So, all joking aside, the stakes really are high when it’s not only her career, but both of those relationships on the line.

A former stand-up star himself, Meyer has helped the trajectory of her career take off since he began managing her… Since he became her closest and most treasured friend, in the process.

This is the only reason why, when the biggest opportunity of Farley’s career includes thrusting him back into the spotlight to stir up publicity, he agrees— despite his grumpiness, his protectiveness over Hazel, and his disdain for public attention.

When helping her includes taking those barriers down, all those funny feelings start coming out into the open, and it quickly begins to feel like anything but a joke.

Funny Feelings is a swoony story about friendship, love, and looking for the laugh in life. It touches on the creative spirit and all that comes with sharing that gift, and how oftentimes the comedians in our lives are the most sensitive, or struggling. It features two friends, one incredible little girl, and a kaleidoscope of feelings along the way.

My Thoughts

I am so happy I stumbled across Funny Feelings while browsing Barnes and Noble’s website, I’m also happy that ended up purchasing it.

First off, this cover is gorgeous and screams Fall to me. Second, I really enjoyed reading it and I think to many people are sleeping on it. With that being said, this is not the book for you if you aren’t a fan of strong language and some spicy scenes.

I loved getting to know Farley and Meyer, as well as seeing the tension and chemistry between the two of them. I also really liked that while they both looked out for their own well-being, they both also looked out for Hazel (Meyer’s daughter) was affected by certain decisions. I also loved the focus on mental health that is explored to some extent.

I loved Farley, but also wished she would just be more open with Meyer, but I also get why she wasn’t because she also wants to protect their friendship. I also enjoyed getting to know Meyer and seeing his relationship to Hazel. I liked that he was protective of Farley, but yet not in an alpha male sort of way (which is personally not my thing).

I really liked how this was kind of a split timeline and we get to see their friendship blossom from when they met 3 years prior to the story.

There is a lot that I really enjoyed about Funny Feelings. I liked the inclusion of Hazel being deaf, but yet also showing how full and rich her life is. I liked the angst. And I really liked the spicy scenes that were pretty spicy.

I really enjoyed Funny Feelings and how it explores the life of a stand-up comedian getting her big break while also being a romance. I definitely plan on reading more of Tarah Dewitt’s work in the future. 4.5/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment