Mini-Reviews #18

Hello everyone,

Welcome to another installment of Mini-reviews where I share my brief thoughts on several books that I have read.

Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade

Date Read: February 13, 2022 & November 30, 2022

I’d been interested in reading this ever since it took BookTube by storm. My interest was also piqued because the main character is plus-sized. I enjoyed this romance, it had the perfect amount of steam. I also liked that it deal with some hard stuff, namely April’s relationship with her parents and how her mom continuously fat shames her. In some ways I could relate to that. I also liked Marcus and how he treats April. I really enjoyed it, and Olivia Dade has become a new favorite. 4/5 Stars.

Earthlings by Sayaka Murata

Date Read: February 13, 2022

I should have DNF’d this one, but some part of me wanted to keep going. I had been looking forward to it after reading the author’s previous work – Convenience Store Woman – but it was such a let down and disturbing. I understand that it is supposed to depict PTSD, but there was just too much that happened. The following are spoilers but it does contain physical, emotional and mental abuse; sexual assault; cannibalism and other stuff. It is a book that scarred me for several days I don’t know if I will read anything else by this author. 1/5 Stars.

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

Date Read: February 14, 2022

What sold me on this was that I’d heard it was a modern thriller retelling of Jane Eyre. I was nervous because I did not know if this could be pulled off, but Rachel Hawkins did it. I really loved how all the different components from the original work were included. It had some interesting twists and I am looking forward to reading more thrillers from Rachel Hawkins. 4/5 Stars.

Pure by Linda Kay Klein

Date Read: March 4, 2022

As someone who grew up under the influence of purity culture and still deals with some of the psychological damage it caused, I was intrigued to read this. I really appreciated everything that Linda Kay Klein shared and could relate to some of it, as well as well as some of the eye opening stuff. I highly recommend Pure for anyone who grew up in purity culture or would like to know more about it. It is definitely an impactful book. 5/5 Stars.

Cold Brew Corpse by Tara Lush

Date Read: March 8, 2022

I liked this second cozy mystery set in Devil’s Beach. I liked the several red herrings woven throughout the story. My only complaint is that the beginning seemed to drag a little. 3/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment