Mini-Reviews #20

Hello everyone,

Welcome to another installment of my brief thoughts on some of the books I have read.

Wild Things by Bruce Handy

Date Read: October 10th, 2022

I found this kind of dry and hard tog et into. It did have some good insights, but I don’t feel like I learned anything new.

What We Talk About When We Talk About Books by Leah Price

Date Read: October 14th, 2022

This was a fairly quick read. However the author makes some interesting points. I found myself disagreeing with them at times. However, it also made for some great discussions with others.

My Killer Vacation by Tessa Bailey

Date Read: October 18th, 2022

I did appreciate how Tessa Bailey tried to marry a murder mystery with a spicy romance. However, the main focus seemed to be the romance and most of the time Myles and Taylor were just trying to get into each other’s pants no matter where they were. it felt a little excessive. I guess I was expecting more focus on finding the killer and less on the characters’ libido. However, I did like the spicy scenes too, even though rough isn’t my thing. It was still somewhat enjoyable, but I also don’t see myself revisiting this anytime soon. 3/5 Stars.

Snow White with the Red Hair, Volume 1 by Sorata Akiduki

Date Read: October 19th, 2022

I really liked this introduction to the series and I hope to continue with it soon.

Kind of Curse by Stephanie Fournet

Date Read: October 24th, 2022

I picked this up because I loved the concept. I’ll be honest I expected the “curse” to be an actual curse and not just something that happens because of genetics. I also liked the romance between Mille and Luc, but it also felt kind of rushed. I wish they’d gotten to know each other beyond their attraction. But it was still cute, and I did really like how Luc proves to Millie that he is very different from her ex. I plan on reading more from Stephanie Fournet. And while the epilogue shows what happens to Mattie (Millie’s younger sister) and Alex (Luc’s younger brother), I’d still love to read more about them and how they adjust to what happens to them. 3/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment