Book Review: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Hello everyone,

Today’s review is on Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas.

Date Read: October 23rd, 2022

About the Book

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

My Thoughts

Alright, I finally finished my re-read of the first four books in the Throne of Glass series, at the rate I’m going I should be done with the series sometime next year. (Note from future me: I finished the series in May, and it was worth it). I’ll be honest, I kind of forgot a lot about what had happened in this book, so I am glad I re-read it. I’m probably going to go into spoilers, so you’ve been warned!

So, okay, Rowan took an oath to Aelin, does that mean they’re mates too, or is that completely different. Also, it was interesting to see the dynamics of their relationship and how much it has changed since Heir of Fire.

I feel like a lot happens in this book, especially the fall of who we were led to believe is the main mastermind behind what was happening turns out to actually be a pawn, so things are far from over as far as the Valg are concerned. I feel like there is a lot more I want to say on this, but I don’t want to give away to many spoilers.

I liked seeing Manon’s character development over the course of this installment and how she is forced to make difficult decisions. I loved how she had to fight against her beliefs, on the one hand she wants to please her grandmother, but she’s torn whether to do so at the expense of her fellow witches, and also her hatred of the Valg.

Again, a lot happens, but I also don’t want to give away too many spoilers so I am going end my thoughts here. Overall, this was a good installment in the series. 4/5 Stars.

Happy Reading,

Janelle L. C.

Leave a comment